MINUTES OF WAIROA DISTRICT COUNCIL MĀORI STANDING COMMITTEE MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, WAIROA DISTRICT COUNCIL, CORONATION SQUARE, WAIROA ON THURSDAY, 24 JUNE 2021 AT 1.30PM

PRESENT: His Worship the Mayor Craig Little, Henare Mita, Theresa Thornton, Fiona

Wairau, Mrs Hinenui Tipoki-Lawton, Mr Paora Puketapu, Ms Alex-Ann

Edwards, Ms Liz Palmer

IN ATTENDANCE: Kitea Tipuna (Tumu Whakarae Chief Executive), Stephen Heath

(Pouwhakarae – Hua Pūmau Hapori/Ratonga Group Manager Community Assets and Services), **Duane Culshaw** (Pouahurea Māori | Māori Relationships Manager), **Courtney Hayward** (Kaiurungi Matua Kaupapa Here me te Mana Ārahi | Senior Policy and Governance Advisor), **Gay Waikawa** (Kaiurungi Mana Arahi/Governance Officer), **Jonny Hardie** (Kaiwhakahaere Kaupapa - Whaipainga I Project Manager – Infrastructure), **Nathan Heath** (Area Manager, HBRC), Benita Cairns, Liz Battes, Puti Moa,

Pikiora Tuhi

1 KARAKIA

Karakia was given by Duane Culshaw, Pouahurea Māori Māori Relationships Manager

2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

APOLOGIES

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2021/163

Moved: Mrs Hinenui Tipoki-Lawton

Seconded: Ms Liz Palmer

That the apologies received from Cr Hine Flood, Cr Jeremy Harker and Here Nissen be accepted and leave of absence granted.

CARRIED

3 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

None.

4 CHAIRPERSON'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

Develop Maori Standing Committee Work Plan

5 LATE ITEM OF URGENT BUSINESS

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2021/164

Moved: Mr Henare Mita Seconded: Ms Alex-Ann Edwards

That in accordance with Section 46A (7) of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 the **Item 1.1 – Abandoned Land** be considered given the item had not come to hand at the time of Agenda compilation and consideration of this matter is required now in order to respond within the timeframe allowed..

CARRIED

6 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

The Chief Executive explained the process of Public Participation. As per Standing Order 14.14 requests to speak must be made to the Chief Executive at least one clear day before the meeting; however this requirement may be waived by the Chairperson.

The Maori Relationships Manager advised two guests had asked to give short presentations. Vision Projects have given their apology and Morehu Munro had not arrived.

Pikiora Tuhi, Chairperson, Ruawharo Marae spoke on Maori Policy and Bluebay Wastewater.

Benita Cairns, Te Kuha Marae – Chairperson commented on the 3 Waters Refom Bill and noted that some of the chairs of Maori committee from within local authorities attended a meeting which was held by Department of Internal Affairs. Open up the dialogue to those affected Marae and whanau how the 3 Waters Reform will affect them.

Puti Moa spoke on her conerns and opposition on the wastewater consents and for Council to work with the community of Opoutama.

7 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2021/165

Moved: His Worship the Mayor Craig Little

Seconded: Ms Liz Palmer

That the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting held on 13 May 2021 be confirmed.

CARRIED

LATE ITEM - ABANDONED LAND

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2021/166

Moved: Ms Liz Palmer Seconded: Mr Henare Mita

That the Maori Standing Committee direct the Chief Executive to review the implementation of Section 77, Local Government Rating Act.

CARRIED

The Chief Executive raised a concern from the Workshop abandoned land and as a result have sought guidance from Maori Standing Committee – Section 77 – Sale or lease of abandoned land, Local Government Rating Act.

The Chief Executive explained the process of abandoned land and Privacy Act.

8 GENERAL ITEMS

8.1 TA TE POUAHUREA MAORI PURONGO

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2021/167

Moved: Ms Liz Palmer

Seconded: Mr Paora Puketapu

That the Māori Standing Committee receives the report.

CARRIED

Nathan Heath Area Manager, Northern Hawke's Bay, HBRC presented his report

Written takiwā report received from:

Rakaipaaka

The Meeting closed at 3.08pm with a karakia by Henare Mita.
The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Māori Standing Committee Meeting held on 5 August 2021.
CHAIRPERSON