MINUTES OF WAIROA DISTRICT COUNCIL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, WAIROA DISTRICT COUNCIL, CORONATION SQUARE, WAIROA ON TUESDAY, 31 JULY 2018 AT 1.30PM

PRESENT: Cr Denise Eaglesome-Karekare (Deputy Mayor), Ms Karen Burger, Ms Angela

Thomas, Ms Whaiora Maindonald

IN ATTENDANCE: G Borg (Chief Financial Officer), K Tipuna (Economic Development &

Engagement Manager), G Waikawa (Governance Administrator), A Powdrell (Upstream Wairoa). A Atzwanger (Economic Development Officer), Leona

Karauria

1 KARAKIA

Karakia was given by K Tipuna

2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

APOLOGIES

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/26

Moved: Ms Whaiora Maindonald Seconded: Ms Angela Thomas

That the apologies received from His Worship the Mayor, C Little and S May be accepted and leave of absence granted.

CARRIED

3 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

None.

4 CHAIRPERSON'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

5 LATE ITEMS OF URGENT BUSINESS

None.

6 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

A maximum of 30 minutes has been set aside for members of the public to speak on any item on the agenda. Up to 5 minutes per person is allowed. As per Standing Order 14.14 requests to speak must be made to the meeting secretary at least one clear day before the meeting; however this requirement may be waived by the Chairperson.

Leona Karauria updated the Committee on the Maori Land Development Project. Engaging and supporting Maori land owners and their aspirations around the opportunities and developing of their lands.

7 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/27

Moved: Ms Angela Thomas

Seconded: Ms Whaiora Maindonald

That the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting held on 19 June 2018 be confirmed.

CARRIED

8 GENERAL ITEMS

8.1 REPORT FROM THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT & ENGAGEMENT MANAGER

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/28

Moved: Ms Whaiora Maindonald

Seconded: Ms Karen Burger

That the Economic Development Committee receive the Economic Development Update Report as

at 23 July 2018

CARRIED

8.2 REPORT FROM THE CHAIR OF TE MATARAE O TE WAIROA TRUST

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/29

Moved: Ms Angela Thomas

Seconded: Cr Denise Eaglesome-Karekare

That Economic Development Committee receive the report on the Trust's recent activities.

CARRIED

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/30

Moved: Cr Denise Eaglesome-Karekare

Seconded: Ms Whaiora Maindonald

That the Economic Development Committee support the establishment of the Wairoa Business Association by allocating \$5,000.00 from existing budget.

CARRIED

Ms Thomas presented to the Committee the Wairoa Business Association Proposal. Key project is to provide support to Wairoa businesses to develop, encourage, grow and up skill, which – in turn, will prosper the wider community.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/31

Moved: Ms Angela Thomas

Seconded: Ms Whaiora Maindonald

That the Economic Development Committee direct the CEO to work with Upstream Wairoa on the CBD Enhancement Project and that project updates be reported through to the Economic Development Committee.

CARRIED

Angela Thomas left at 2.43pm

Mr Tipuna presented to the committee that Gillian Ward from the Gisborne Rail Action Group would present to the ED Committee as requested through the Long Term Plan process. The presentation from the Gisborne Rail Action Group will seek support from the Wairoa District Council for an application to the Provincial Growth Fund for a feasibility study on the Wairoa to Gisborne railway line. They will also seek formal support for the reinstatement of the line if the government decides that they would invest in this reinstatement.

At length discussions were held regarding Gisborne Rail Action Group.

Mr Tipuna also explained that Mr Geoff Main (Gisborne Rail Bike Adventures) has been given a licence to occupy from KiwiRail for the Gisborne to Wairoa section of the railway line, cyclists will have the opportunity to be among the first to trial Mr Main's rail-bikes — twinned bicycles yoked by a lightweight chassis — on the railway track.

The Meeting closed at 2.54pm with a karakia by K Tipuna

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Economic Development Committee Meeting held on 11 September 2018.

••••••	CHAIRPERSON