MINUTES OF WAIROA DISTRICT COUNCIL MĀORI STANDING COMMITTEE MEETING HELD AT EREPETI MARAE, 1728 RUAKITURI ROAD, WAIROA ON THURSDAY, 8 MARCH 2018 AT 12.30PM

PRESENT: Cr Charles (Charlie) Lambert, Mr Kiwa Hammond (Chair), Mrs Here Nissen, Mr

Henare Mita, Ms Sharon Cooper, Ms Theresa Thornton, Mr Anaru Te Nahu,

Mrs Whaiora Maindonald

IN ATTENDANCE: D Culshaw (Māori Relationships Manager), C Knight (Governance Advisor &

Policy Strategist)

Meeting commenced with a pohiri at 12.10pm

1 KARAKIA

Given by Mr Hammond.

2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

APOLOGY

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/40

Moved: Ms Whaiora Maindonald

Seconded: Mr Henare Mita

That the apologies received from Cr Harker, His Worship the Mayor, Mr P Kelly, and the CEO be accepted and leave of absence granted.

CARRIED

3 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

None.

4 CHAIRPERSON'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

5 LATE ITEMS OF URGENT BUSINESS

None.

6 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None.

7 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/41

Moved: Mr Anaru Te Nahu Seconded: Mr Henare Mita

That the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting held on 8 February 2018 be confirmed.

CARRIED

8 GENERAL ITEMS

8.1 MAORI RELATIONSHIPS MANAGER REPORT

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/42

Moved: Ms Sharon Cooper Seconded: Ms Theresa Thornton

That the Māori Standing Committee nominate Whaiora Maindonald to be part of the Stakeholder Group for the Town Centre Enhancement Project.

CARRIED

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/43

Moved: Ms Sharon Cooper

Seconded: Ms Whaiora Maindonald

That the Māori Standing Committee confirm that the Chair and a rotating member will represent the Māori Standing Committee at the Council Forum meetings.

CARRIED

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/44

Moved: Mr Henare Mita Seconded: Mrs Here Nissen

That the Māori Standing Committee receives the Maori Relationships Manager's report.

CARRIED

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION 2018/45

Moved: Ms Sharon Cooper Seconded: Mr Anaru Te Nahu

That the Maori Standing Committee receives the Chairman's report.

CARRIED

Takiwā reports were given by:

- Henare Mita
- Anaru Te Nahu

- Theresa Thornton
- Sharon Cooper
- Here Nissen
- Whaiora Maindonald

Cl	osing	kara	kia –	Mr	K	Han	nmor	١d.
----	-------	------	-------	----	---	-----	------	-----

The Meeting closed at 3.31 p.m.

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Māori Standing Committee Meeting held on 12 April 2018.

• • • • • • • • • • • •	 • • • • • • • • • • • • •	•••••

CHAIRPERSON